The Day I Turned 70

Just Thinking….

f148f33f004985fac8deb8722707f857.jpg

Can I be honest?  I’m not a material girl.  I’m a birthday girl….. meaning that I love birthdays…. both mine and everyone else’s. See, I think that God created each of you to be someone unique and special. I could go on and sound like Dr. Seuss….. but I think your birthday ought to be celebrated to the hilt. I always got super excited for my birthday. Not for gifts… although that is wonderful. It’s just about being recognized as someone who is fearfully and wonderfully made, you know what I mean?

But this year….. well…. the original birthday girl was sort of dreading turning 70. Something about that number just sounded old. And I was coming off the worst year of my life. And I have been recovering from being sick for 6 weeks this winter. And I just had little energy from all of that….. certainly not enough to contemplate what 70 is supposed to look like or feel like or act like. Maybe it was a kind of depression. Maybe it was just being tired. Whatever. I was not looking forward to this birthday.

But my sweet husband began to turn all that around. He asked people to send me cards, and I began to look forward to the mail coming each day. He arranged a dinner and an enjoyable day with our family. He took me on a picnic today.

Then friends invited us to a Cards game. That visit went over and above anything I had ever expected in this lifetime. Other friends took me out to lunch. A friend has invited us to a coffee tomorrow. Another friend is having lunch with me next week. A group with which we go on mission had a cake and cards for me. I had a visit with yet another friend today.

I had the pleasure of corresponding with a former student last night at the ball game….. and with a college sorority sister at that same ball game. Each of my grandchildren wrote me a letter about their memories of our times together. My hubby bought me second hand craft stamp sets…… and that’s exactly what my frugal heart loved.

I got birthday freebies from Taco John, Applebees, Pizza Ranch, Sonic, Arbys, the steak house, a local coffee shop, a fitness club, and my massage therapist.

Tonight I responded to about 250 birthday greetings on Facebook. . [edited to add that now it is over 350] I had wonderful tulips delivered from my sisters. My neighbors brought me cards. I had notes from cousins all over, and from my brother, and from nieces and nephews and aunts, and from friends around the globe. I had phone calls and texts, and instant messages. I had those snazzy e-cards with music and dancing. I had some fun correspondence with my son.

You know what? God used each of these people to draw me out of this depression and move me past the horrible 2018 and remind me that people all over care….. and that God loves me. GOD LOVES ME!!!!!!!! Little ole woe-is-me gray haired Diana……He LOVES me!!!!!!!! He loves me with extravagant wild abandon, over and beyond what I deserve!!! He loves me exceedingly abundantly!!!!

Each of you, whether you realize it or not, played a role in one of the best birthdays I have ever had. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for responding to what God placed in your mind and heart. Never…. NEVER….. underestimate what your words and greetings can do. They are powerful.

Father, keep on reminding me that I am loved, both by You and by so many more.  Thank You for the power of friends and their words.  Remind me that seven decades have been filled with evidence of You protecting and providing in my life.

To God be the Glory….

bug

Published in: on April 11, 2019 at 3:00 am  Leave a Comment