Big Footsteps in the Big Snow

Just Thinking…..

th-1

Growing up in rural Iowa meant snow. Lots of snow. And since I was a tiny thing, the snow, of course, looked huge to me. Sometimes the drifts were higher than my head; I felt engulfed by the snow. To sink into a drift and only see the unending waves of white was terrifying.

I went to a one room country school, Cuba School, which was about a mile from our farm. Walking to school was no problem in the fall and the spring. But winter made a big problem. Big snow. Big challenge.

th-2

My father walked with me to school. He set off down the lane, and onto the gravel road leading to the school. His legs were long, and his footsteps were large. But he walked at a slower pace, with shorter distances between steps. I followed…. trying to match my little foot to his deeper imprint. Sometimes I was exhausted by the time we reached the schoolhouse, but I made it.

Our small group yesterday was discussing Chapter 3 in Fancis Chan’s book, “Crazy Love.” It was dealing with the concept of father and how our impressions and experiences with our earthly father impact our relationship with our Heavenly Father.

I began to think about our trek through the snow. My dad made sure that his path was not impossible to follow. He was there with me all the way, and he broke the path so that I could walk in it. And I know that if I had fallen from the exhaustion, that he would have picked me up and carried me.

th

Isn’t that like our Heavenly Father? He will lead…. if I let Him. He will be there all the way. He will make the path possible for me to walk, even it is challenging to do so. And He will carry me when I can no longer walk. I just have to be willing to go.

He’s a good, good Father. That’s Who He is. That’s Who He is.

th-3

Father, forgive me when I am unwilling to even begin on the snowy drift covered path. Forgive me when I look at it as an impossible journey. Forgive me when I try to veer off onto my own path. And thank You for leading, for always being there, for picking me up when I can no longer go on my own.

To God Be The Glory
bug

Published in: on April 18, 2016 at 6:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://glorybug.wordpress.com/2016/04/18/big-footsteps-to-my-little-school/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

