Company for Lunch!

Just thinking…….

We’re having company over for lunch tomorrow after church. The Hubs and I like to entertain, but I don’t do as much as I should. We are blessed with a large circle of friends, and stay socially active with them, going to each other’s homes for meals and such. I’ve been a little lazy this winter, so decided it was time to clean house and invite some folks over. So we have a couple families coming.

I like to serve buffet style. It’s just easier on me, and our table is on the small side. If I put all the food on the table family style, then we don’t have much room. Our dining table is in the same area as the breakfast bar, which is large. So we set the spread out there on the bar.

I have the table set. I used a gold, rust, green cloth, and have rust red cloth napkins. Then I used all white corelle ware for the dishes, starting with a large shallow soup bowl, and a smaller white bowl for salad. I have a marble lazy susan in the middle with condiments and extra napkins.

On the bar is a centerpiece of 3 candles in pottery, matching the colors of the tablecloth. I’m making homemade chicken and dumpling soup, and will serve it in a tureen. I have artisan bread that I’ll serve hot on a cutting board, along with dipping oil. And I’m making a great salad with mixed greens, walnuts, dried cranberries, and dried seeds, in a poppy seed dressing. For dessert, we have fresh fruit and cheddar cheese on a board. What do you think?

I grew up in a family that entertained a lot. I mean, A LOT! My parents are in their 80s and still entertain far more than we do. They often host meals for 20 or more. It boggles my mind. Mom will serve a meat, 2 kinds of potatoes, gravy, noodles, 3 or 4 vegetable side dishes, 2 or 3 salads, homemade bread and butter and jams/jellies. And she’ll whip up a big baked dessert with ice cream for dessert. She’ll have relish trays and bowls of pickles……. unbelievable how much she gets ready.

Me? Soup, salad and bread.

It’s a different generation. My son’s generation invites company over and orders pizza. It will be interesting to see what my grandkids do when they grow up. My grandparents always had the big spread for company, along with a formal table setting. My table setting is nice, but not very formal. My son sets out paper plates, and your pick of canned soda.

Ah yes, the history of food culture.

To God be the glory……
bug

Published in: on February 6, 2009 at 3:19 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://glorybug.wordpress.com/2009/02/06/company-for-lunch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

